

BOROUGH OF RUSHMOOR

To the Mayor and Members of the Council,

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the Annual Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Rushmoor to be held at the Council Offices, Farnborough on *Tuesday, 23rd May, 2017 at 7.00 pm* for the transaction of the business set out on the Agenda given below.

AGENDA

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR OF THE BOROUGH

Cr. M.L. Sheehan will move and Cr K. Dibble will second:

"That Councillor **SOPHIA CHOUDHARY** be elected Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2018."

On her election, the Mayor will be invested with the Insignia of Office, take the Chair and make her Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor will address the Meeting and will signify the appointment of Miss Attika Choudhary as Mayoress.

2. VOTE OF THANKS

To record the Council's appreciation of the excellent service rendered by Councillor Jacqui Vosper as Mayor and Miss Amanda Mullard-Hicks as Mayoress during the Municipal Year 2016/17. An illuminated scroll shall be presented, together with a Past Mayor's Badge, to Councillor Vosper and a Past Mayoress' Badge to Miss Mullard-Hicks.

3. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

Cr. M.D. Smith will move and Cr. J.H. Marsh will second:

"That Councillor **STEPHEN JOHN MASTERSON** be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2018."

On his election, Councillor Masterson will be invested with the Deputy Mayor's Badge. He will then make his Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4. MINUTES

To confirm the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 20th April, 2017 (copy Minutes herewith).

5. **RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT**

To receive the Returning Officer's Report of the St. John's Ward Election held on 4th May 2017 (a copy of the Report is annexed hereto).

6. MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

7. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

To consider nominations and appoint the Leader of the Council to hold office until the Annual Meeting in 2018. Cr. D.E. Clifford has been nominated by the Conservative Group.

8. **APPOINTMENTS 2017/18**

(1) To note the appointment of the following Cabinet Members and the Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2017/18, as made by the Leader of the Council:

Cr. Barbara Hurst Health and Housing Portfolio
Cr. G.B. Lyon Concessions and Community Support Portfolio
Business, Safety and Regulation Portfolio and
Deputy Leader
Cr. M.L. Sheehan Leisure and Youth Portfolio

Cr. P.G. Taylor Corporate Services Portfolio

Cr. M.J. Tennant Environment and Service Delivery Portfolio

(2) To consider and approve the Appointments to Committees and the Policy and Review Panels for the Municipal Year 2017/18 as follows, in accordance with the allocations to achieve political balance indicated:

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT

Voting Members

Conservative 7 Labour 3 UKIP 1

Cr. Mrs D.B. Bedford Cr. Sue Dibble Cr. D.M.T. Bell

Cr. R. Cooper Cr. Jennifer Evans Cr. P.I.C. Crerar Cr. C.P. Grattan

Cr. D.S. Gladstone

Cr. G.B. Lyon Cr. J.H. Marsh Cr. B.A. Thomas

Standing Deputies

Conservative: Labour: Cr. S.J. Masterson Cr. P.F. Rust

NOTE: The Cabinet Member for Environment and Service Delivery is to be an ex officio non-voting member of the Development Management Committee

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES

Voting Members

Conservative: 8 Labour: 3

Cr. Sue Carter Cr. Jennifer Evans

Cr. Sophia Choudhary Cr. B. Jones Cr. Liz Corps Cr. L.A. Taylor

Cr. A. Jackman Cr. S.J. Masterson Cr. M.D. Smith Cr. Jacqui Vosper

Cr. J.E. Woolley

(3) To consider and approve the Appointments to the Policy and Review Panels for the Municipal Year 2017/18 as follows, in accordance with the allocations to achieve political balance indicated:

BOROUGH SERVICES

Conservative: 6 Labour: 2 UKIP: 1

Cr. R. Cooper Cr. T.D. Bridgeman Cr. M. Staplehurst

Cr. R.L.G. Dibbs Cr. A.H. Crawford

Cr. S.J. Masterson Cr. Marina Munro Cr. A. R. Newell

Cr. B.A. Thomas

COMMUNITY

Conservative: 6 Labour: 3

Cr. M.S. Choudhary
Cr. J.J. Preece
Cr. R. Cooper
Cr. M.J. Roberts
Cr. J.H. Marsh
Cr. P.F. Rust

Cr. S.J. Masterson Cr. Marina Munro Cr. M.D. Smith

CORPORATE SERVICES

Conservative: 6 Labour: 2 UKIP: 1

Cr. M.S. Choudhary Cr. B. Jones Cr. D.M.T. Bell

Cr. R. Cooper Cr. P.F. Rust

Cr. R.L.G. Dibbs Cr. D.S. Gladstone Cr. Jacqui Vosper Cr. J.E. Woolley

ENVIRONMENT

Conservative: 6 Labour: 3

Cr. D.B. Bedford Cr. K. Dibble Cr. J.B. Canty Cr. C.P. Grattan Cr. Sophia Choudhary Cr. J.J. Preece

Cr. D.S. Gladstone Cr. A. Jackman Cr. Marina Munro

LEISURE AND YOUTH

Conservative: 6 Labour: 3

Cr. Mrs D.B. Bedford Cr. T.D. Bridgeman Cr. J.B. Canty Cr. Sue Dibble Cr. Sue Carter Cr. L.A. Taylor

Cr. Liz Corps Cr. P.I.C. Crerar Cr. J.H. Marsh

(4) To consider the nominations and appoint the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the following Committees (the Conservative Group nominations are set out below):

Development Management

Nominated Chairman Cr. B.A. Thomas Nominated Vice-Chairman Cr. J.H. Marsh

Licensing and General Purposes

Nominated Chairman Cr. A. Jackman Nominated Vice-Chairman Cr. J.E. Woolley

(5) To consider and approve the Appointments to the Management Boards for the Council Trusts for the Municipal Year 2017/18 as follows, and to authorise each Management Board to make decisions on behalf of the Council by majority vote:

The Aldershot Recreation Ground Trust

Cr. Mrs D.B. Bedford Cr. K. Dibble Cr. A.R. Newell

Standing Deputy: Cr. T.D. Bridgeman

King George's Field, Farnborough Trust

Cr. R.L.G. Dibbs Cr. B. Jones Cr. P.G. Taylor

Standing Deputy: Cr. L.A. Taylor

The Alfred Henry Goode Will Trust

Cr. D.E. Clifford Cr. A.H. Crawford Cr. K.H. Muschamp

Standing Deputy: Cr. B. Jones

A.E. COLVER Head of Democratic and Customer Services

Council Offices
Farnborough
Hampshire GU14 7JU